Honors Day 2018

Awards & Honors
Monday, April 9, 2018

Honors Day has been a long-standing department tradition to celebrate the hard work and dedication of our students to the study of Physics, the practice of Physics, and the sharing of Physics with the community.

Alumni Speaker

Commander David C. Clark '99, U.S. Navy, Pentagon, Washington, D.C., will present, Physics in Real Life: The Navy, Parenting and Beyond!

Sigma Pi Sigma Inductees

  • Danish Siddiquie
  • Angela Sommerer

Award for Excellence in Introductory Physics 121-122 (Book) Awards

  • Gaby Pleitez-Gomez
  • David Weimar
  • Maureen Madar
  • Rachel Reardon
  • Tran Anh Nguyen
  • Anna Mankovich,
  • Tommy McMaster
  • Jenny (Jianing) Zhang

Award for Excellence in Introductory Physics 125-126 (Book) Awards

  • Medha Lallbeeharry
  • Simon (Sirui) Liu
  • Quinn Plaga
  • Rahul Shrestha

Departmental Fellows

The Department reserves this designation for rising juniors and seniors who have demonstrated a high ability and interest in physics, and who have made significant contributions to the Department in various ways. Fellows also have the responsibility to be leaders and good role models in the Department. Next year’s fellows are:

Senior Fellows:

  • Adrian Miller
  • Nick Pellar
  • Julia Proctor
  • Nick Staniszewski
  • Jonathan (Shuheng) Zhao
  • Gan Xu

Junior Fellows:

  • Christopher Broyles
  • Liping Hu
  • Colin Smith
  • Ange Sommerer

Benjamin Leslie Experimentalist Award

This award, named in memory of Ben Leslie '99, is awarded to a student who demonstrates superb ability and potential as an experimentalist.

  • Patrick Banner

Denison Society of Physics Students Leadership Award

This award was established in 2003 and recognizes a student who has provided excellent leadership in our SPS Chapter.

  • Jane Bright and Geneva Cusack

Samuel C. Wheeler Award for Excellence in Physics

This award is given for excellence in the understanding and doing of physics combined with leadership in the Department.

  • Jane Bright

Ron Winters Graduate School Award in Physics

This award recognizes the intellectual horsepower of the recipient, their ability to do and understand physics, and their dedication to the study of physics.

  • Patrick Banner
Posted Date 
Monday, April 16, 2018

What's Happening

More From Denison
Denison Seminars
Denison Seminars
Denison Seminars
Study Abroad
Study Abroad
Living at Denison
Living at Denison
Living at Denison
Career Exploration
Career Exploration