Honors Day has been a long-standing tradition in the Department of Physics & Astronomy. It is our opportunity to celebrate the hard work and dedication of our students to the study of Physics, the practice of Physics, and the sharing of Physics with the community. On Monday, May 2nd, we gathered together to have dinner and give recognition to our graduating seniors, dedicated student mentors, and award-winning scholars. In addition to our on-campus students, we were able to celebrate via zoom with our off-campus seniors, those currently enrolled in 3/2 programs. It was wonderful to carry on the tradition with this remarkable group of students.

University-Wide Honors

  • PRESIDENT’S MEDAL: Liam Jeanette
  • INDUCTION INTO PHI SOCIETY: Eliot Hiegel; Charlotte Jaffee; Fabri Vassallo

Sigma Pi Sigma Inductees

  • Riley Coburn
  • Chase Fisher
  • Joy Kim
  • Eliot Hiegel
  • Charlotte Jaffe
  • Fabrizio Vassallo

Award for Excellence in Introductory Physics 121-122 (Book) Awards:

  • Amy Chiero
  • Aiden Lane
  • Gabe Springer

Award for Excellence in Introductory Physics 125-126 (Book) Awards:

  • William Decker
  • Zheng Fang
  • Henry Kline

Department Fellows

The Department reserves this designation for rising juniors and seniors who have demonstrated a high ability and interest in physics, and who have made significant contributions to the Department in various ways. Fellows also have the responsibility to be leaders and good role models in the Department.

Next Year’s Senior Fellows:

  • Jaelyn Roth
  • Erich Wette
  • Andy Zabinski

Next Year’s Junior Fellows:

  • Rae Furge
  • Eliot Hiegel
  • Joy Kim
  • Fabri Vassallo

Ben Leslie Experimentalist Fellow:

This award, named in memory of Ben Leslie (’99), is awarded to a student who demonstrates superb ability and potential as an experimentalist.

  • Erich Wette

Denison Society of Physics Students Leadership Award:

This award recognizes a student or students for their excellent leadership and strong organizational skills within our SPS Chapter.

  • Devan Plaga
  • Grace Battersby

Mike Mickelson Research Award:

The Mike Mickelson Research Award is intended to recognize students that have not only done excellent research, but combined intellectual ownership, curiosity, and skill to drive the research project in novel and important directions.

  • Hoang Anh Nguyen

Ron Winters Award in Physics:

This award, established in 1999, recognizes the intellectual horsepower of the recipient, their ability to do and understand physics, and their dedication to the study of physics. It is given for excellence in the understanding and doing of physics combined with leadership in the Department.

  • Zezheng (Freddie) Zhu

Samuel C. Wheeler Award for Excellence In Physics:

This award is given for excellence in the understanding and doing of physics combined with leadership in the Department.

  • Liam Jeanette
June 7, 2022