Excitement begins to build across campus as the calendar approaches the middle of April, the time of year for Denison’s annual Academic Awards convocation. At this year’s ceremony on Friday, April 14, members of the Board of Trustees and Alumni Council, professors in regalia, and hundreds of students packed into Swasey Chapel to cheer on the winners of Denison’s highest academic honors.

President Adam Weinberg, Provost Kim Coplin, and professors Adam Davis, Jordan Fantini, and Heather Pool presided over the ceremonies, which opened with faculty and student performances and closed with a stirring rendition of the alma mater, To Denison.

In addition to the recognition of inductees to Phi Beta Kappa, the national’s oldest academic honorary society, Provost Coplin announced the winners of the Provost Academic Excellence Awards, students with outstanding records who are highly engaged in their academic experience.

The 2023 Provost Academic Awardees are:

  • Khoi Le ’23, computer science and mathematics
  • Fernanda Aiala ’23, biology
  • Alivia Su ’23, biochemistry
April 19, 2023