2014-2015 Departmental Honors & Awards

Awards & Honors

2014-2015 Departmental Awards

Michael and Amy Gordon Award

Awarded to a graduating senior who intends to pursue their studies at the graduate level.

Winner:  Corrine Cox

Allen T. Price Scholarship

A need based scholarship awarded to excellent history majors.

Winners: Erica Hastings, Sunder Willett

Francis Wayland Shepardson Scholarship

For sophomore or junior students who have shown proficiency and interest in American History.

Winner: Jean Nicole Hurley

John C. Taylor II Memorial Prize

The parents of John Taylor created the prize in memory of their son who was a student at Denison and a history enthusiast.  The prize is awarded to a graduating senior in American History who has an excellent grade-point average and who has done commendable work in history courses.

Winners: Natalie Hall, Madeleine Oulevey

William T. Utter Memorial Prize

Cash prize awarded to the best Honors project by a History major.

Winner: Corinne Cox

2014-2015 Departmental Fellows

Each academic year the department chooses a number of departmental fellows from among history majors.

Fellows have privileged access to the departmental library, and they are consulted by the department with regard to curricular concerns, in addition to meeting with job candidates.

2014-2015 Phi Alpha Theta Members

Phi Alpha Theta is the International Honor Society in History. The society is composed of chapters at accredited universities and colleges.

One has to have a 3.0 cumulative GPA, four history courses, and a 3.1 GPA in the history major to be eligible to be a member of Phi Alpha Theta at Denison.

Posted Date 
Wednesday, May 7, 2014

What's Happening

More From Denison
Denison Seminars
Denison Seminars
Denison Seminars
Study Abroad
Study Abroad
Living at Denison
Living at Denison
Living at Denison
Career Exploration
Career Exploration