Every year, the Women’s and Gender Studies Program presents its annual awards in honor of the late Dr. Nan Nowik, Associate Professor of English (1972-1988), former Women’s Coordinator, and co-founder of the Women’s Resource Center at Denison University. The awards were created to celebrate outstanding student work in academic scholarship, activism, artistic expression, and essay. Here are this year’s winners!

  • Priyanshi Kanoria ‘24 - Senior Academic Scholarship (1st Place) The Rachel Zegler Controversy: A Postfeminist Response
  • Talia Raider-Roth ‘24 - Senior Academic Scholarship (Honorable Mention) “Filling in the Gaps”: Collaborations and Disconnections Between a Small Liberal Arts Campus’ Office of Title IX and Student-led Sexual Respect Organizations
  • Students for Justice in Palestine - Activism (1st Place)
  • Ava Peterson ‘24 - Artistic Expression (1st Place) Clear the Kitchen Table: The Investigation of Painting and Sewing in Domestic Spaces
  • Ikera Olandesca ‘26 - Artistic Expression (Honorable Mention) Walk All Over
  • Eliza Scoggin ‘26 - Essay (1st Place) Affirming a Place in the Picture: Analyzing the Liberative Potential of a Diverse Christ in the Visual Arts, Social Justice, and Advocacy
  • Jaci Hershberger ‘24 - Essay (Honorable Mention) Reimaging US International Women’s Day: A Framework for Solidarity Across Borders
May 10, 2024