Honors Day has been a long-standing department tradition to celebrate the hard work and dedication of our students to the study of Physics, the practice of Physics, and the sharing of Physics with the community. On Monday, April 20th, the Physics & Astronomy Department gathered together for a virtual event to celebrate the graduating seniors, dedicated student mentors, and award-winning scholars. Despite the challenge of physical distancing, the gathering was close in Denison spirit.

Sigma Pi Sigma Inductees:

  • Yufan (Frank) Gu
  • Liam Jeanette
  • Hoang Anh Nguyen
  • Devan Plaga
  • Aditi Singh
  • Jack Staggs
  • Bebe (Robert) Wang
  • Wenpu (Warren) Xia
  • Zezheng (Freddie) Zhu

Award for Excellence in Introductory Physics 121-122 (Book) Awards:

  • Caroline Cary
  • Yi Fei (Jeffrey) Guo
  • Tom Ha
  • Zhihao (Charlie) Liu
  • Tung Nguyen
  • Anusha Shukla
  • Megan Wong

Award for Excellence in Introductory Physics 125-126 (Book) Awards:

  • Riley Coburn
  • Ziheng (Hardy) Dai
  • Chase Fisher
  • Orhan Ozkan
  • Phuricha (Copter) Phanwong
  • Jaelyn Roth
  • Erich Wette
  • Ning (Joy) Zhou

Departmental Fellows:
The Department reserves this designation for rising juniors and seniors who have demonstrated a high ability and interest in physics, and who have made significant contributions to the Department in various ways. Fellows also have the responsibility to be leaders and good role models in the Department.

Next year’s fellows are:

Senior Fellows:

  • Meaghan Accarino
  • Medha Lallbeeharry
  • Ang Li
  • Simon Liu
  • Quinn Plaga
  • Remington Ponce
  • Rahul Shrestha
  • Sarah Spielman

Junior Fellows:

  • Yufan (Frank) Gu
  • Liam Jeanette
  • Hoang Anh Nguyen
  • Devan Plaga
  • Wenpu (Warren) Xia
  • Zezheng (Freddie) Zhu

Denison Society of Physics Student Leadership Award
This award was established in 2003 and recognizes a student who has provided excellent leadership in our SPS Chapter.

  • Colin Smith

Mike Mickelson Research Award:
The Senior Research Award is intended to recognize students that have not only done excellent research, but combined intellectual ownership, curiosity, and skill to drive the research project in novel and important directions.

  • Ange Sommerer

Benjamin Leslie Experimentalist Award:
This award, named in memory of Ben Leslie (‘99), is awarded to a student who demonstrates superb ability and potential as an experimentalist.

  • Rahul Shrestha
  • Sarah Spielman

Ron Winters Graduate School Award in Physics:
This award, established in 1999, recognizes the intellectual horsepower of the recipient, their ability to do and understand physics, and their dedication to the study of physics. It is given for excellence in the understanding and doing of physics combined with leadership in the Department.

  • Tran Anh Nguyen
  • Bebe Wang
May 1, 2020