University News

Denison announces named faculty chairs

Honors & Awards Provost's Office
May 14, 2020

Each year, Denison University celebrates the academic achievements of students and faculty during the college’s annual academic awards convocation. This year, due to the Covid-19 crisis, the annual event was canceled, but the recognition of new faculty chairs, honoraries that include additional support for research, continues.

A number of Denison professors hold named chairs, which come with monetary and other awards. The professors newly holding five-year named chairs are:

  • Associate Professor of Modern Languages Dosinda Garcia Alvite: The Alumni Chair
  • Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy Riina Tehver: The J. Reid Anderson Distinguished Professorship in Physics
  • Associate Professor of Economics Jessica Bean: The JP Morgan Chase Endowed Professorship in Economics
  • Professor of Physics and Astronomy Wesley Walter: The Henry Chisholm Chair in Natural Sciences
  • Associate Professor of International Studies Taku Suzuki: The Judy Gentili Chair in International Studies

Two inaugural named faculty chairs were introduced:

  • Professor of History Megan Threlkeld: The Michael G. and Barbara W. Rahal Professorship in History
  • Professor for Environmental Studies Abram Kaplan: The Anne Powell Riley Endowed Professorship

Two special awards recognized particular excellence in teaching at Denison.

  • Associate Professor of Economics Quentin Duroy: The Charles A. Brickman Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Professor of History and Director of Global Commerce Karen Spierling: The Bonar Family Mentoring and Teaching Excellence Award

One special award recognizes faculty mentorship and leadership on campus.

  • Associate Professor of Black Studies and Director of Center for Black Studies Toni King: The Charles & Nancy Brickman Distinguished Leadership Chair
Back to top