Phi Alpha Theta - International Honor Society

Phi Alpha Theta is the International Honor Society in History. The society is composed of chapters at accredited universities and colleges. One has to have a 3.0 cumulative GPA, four history courses, and a 3.1 GPA in the history major to be eligible to be a member of Phi Alpha Theta at Denison.

Departmental Fellows

Each academic year the department chooses a number of departmental fellows from among history majors. Fellows have privileged access to the departmental library, and are consulted by the department with regard to curricular concerns. Fellows also meet with job candidates.


Michael and Amy Gordon Award

This award is named after Michael and Amy Gordon, two retired History Department Professors who made outstanding contributions to the History Department for over 30 years. This award recognizes outstanding Senior history students with a concentration in European History.

  • Winners: Elizabeth Higley ‘21, Michael O’Hara ‘21, James “Whit” Ellingwood ‘21

Allen T. Price Memorial Scholarship

This award is given to a Junior history major who has demonstrated excellence in history courses and a commitment to the study of history.

  • Winners: Hannah Bradvica ’22, Farah Farah ’22

Francis Wayland Shepardson Scholarship

This award is given to a Junior history major who has demonstrated excellent work and a strong interest in American History courses.

  • Winners: Kaela Malone ’22, Antonio Zacco ‘22

John C. Taylor II Memorial Prize

The parents of John Taylor created the prize in memory of their son who was a student at Denison and a history enthusiast. The prize is awarded to a graduating senior in American History who has an excellent grade-point average and who has done commendable work in history courses.

  • Winner: Camron Alten-Dunkle ‘21

William T. Utter Prize

This award is named in honor of Professor William Utter, a longtime teacher and chair of the History Department, and is annually awarded to the writer of the best history thesis.

  • Winner: Michael O’Hara ‘21
May 26, 2021