2019-2020 History Honors & Awards

Awards & Honors


Phi Alpha Theta is the International Honor Society in History. The society is composed of chapters at accredited universities and colleges. One has to have a 3.0 cumulative GPA, four history courses, and a 3.1 GPA in the history major to be eligible to be a member of Phi Alpha Theta at Denison.


Each year, the Department of History chooses a number of departmental fellows from among their majors, based on their academic record and aptitude for History.

Fellows have privileged access to the departmental library, and they are consulted by the department with regard to curricular concerns, in addition to meeting with job candidates.


Department of History student scholarship/awards recipients:

Michael and Amy Gordon Award - This award is named after Michael and Amy Gordon, two retired History Department Professors who made outstanding contributions to the History Department for over 30 years. This award recognizes outstanding Senior history students with a concentration in European History.

Winner: Tiernan Foster-Smith ‘19, Caileigh Marshall ’19

Allen T. Price Memorial Scholarship - This award is given to a Junior history major who has demonstrated excellence in history courses and a commitment to the study of history.

Winner: Ambar Deleon ‘20

Francis Wayland Shepardson Scholarship - This award is given to a Junior history major who has demonstrated excellent work and a strong interest in American History courses.

Winner: Emma Borgia ‘20

John C. Taylor II Memorial Prize - The parents of John Taylor created the prize in memory of their son who was a student at Denison and a history enthusiast. The prize is awarded to a graduating senior in American History who has an excellent grade-point average and who has done commendable work in history courses.

Winner: Tommy McMaster ‘19

William T. Utter Prize - This award is named in honor of Professor William Utter, a longtime teacher and chair of the History Department, and is annually awarded to the writer of the best history thesis.

Winner: Kellianne Denison ‘19


Denison University’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (Theta of Ohio) was founded over a century ago, in 1910, to recognize excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Election to Phi Beta Kappa takes place during the second semester of the senior year and is based primarily on a record of outstanding academic achievement.

  • Benjamin Burdick ‘18
  • Lily Broomhead ‘18
  • Brigette Schuman ‘18
  • Caileigh Marshall ‘19
Posted Date 
Monday, May 20, 2019

What's Happening

More From Denison
Denison Seminars
Denison Seminars
Denison Seminars
Study Abroad
Study Abroad
Living at Denison
Living at Denison
Living at Denison
Career Exploration
Career Exploration