Denison University’s Board of Trustees has awarded tenure to seven members of the faculty. Those who have been granted tenure and who will be promoted to associate professor in the fall of 2021 are John McHugh, Emily Nemeth, Omedi Ochieng, Hyun Woong Park, Luis Villanueva, Sarah Wolff, and Hoda Yousef.

Hyun Woong Park joined Denison’s Department of Economics in 2017. He holds a bachelor’s from Handong Global University, South Korea, a master’s from Yonsei University, South Korea and a doctorate from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Park teaches finance courses for the financial economics concentration. His research interests include financial intermediation, systemic risk and financial fragility, and labor theory of value, etc. Park has published articles in, among others, North American Journal of Economics and Finance, Structural Change and Economic Dynamics, Metroeconomica, and Journal of Contemporary Asia. He serves on the editorial board for The Review of Social and Economic Studies, and as a board member of the Korean Association For Political Economy.

Luis Villanueva joined Denison’s Department of Economics in 2014. He holds a bachelor of science from the Universidad Autonoma Chapingo, Mexico, a master’s from the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM), Mexico, and a doctorate from The New School for Social Research, New York. He teaches macroeconomics and economic development courses. His research combines theory and empirical analysis to study topics in economic development, economic history of Latin America, and classical political economy.

April 5, 2021