Dear Campus Community:

The Title IX website is dedicated to providing ongoing updates and information about the 2018-2019 community dinners on the topic of creating a campus culture that values sexual respect.

Culture change is difficult and complicated. But one mark of a great college is that it is open and honest with opportunities to be stronger, healthier and better, even—perhaps especially—in the face of the most difficult issues. Great colleges do this work in an inclusive and transparent way. For us, this means bringing together diverse groupings as co-creators of ideas and solutions.

To get change underway, we will convene students, faculty, staff, alumni, and trustees over two evenings of dialogue dinners this fall; our hope is that at least 200 members of the Denison community will participate, forming groups of a dozen individuals representing different parts of our community. Over the course of a two-hour dinner, the groups will focus on questions designed to generate better understandings and ideas for our work at Denison. These conversations are designed to be an open and honest exchange of ideas and experiences about our campus. We will collect the information and craft a series of follow-up conversations to develop specific action items that we will work on together as a community. Some of these may be highly experimental, but we’re interested in breaking new ground. The goal is to come up with clear actions that can move us forward in a visible way towards becoming a campus where sexual respect is a driving value and sexual assault never happens.

Dean of Students, Bill Fox and Dr. Rebecca Homan, Associate Professor of Biology will convene a student steering committee to organize the dialogue dinners and seek input and reactions from the campus.

This is an opportunity for us to do work together, as a campus community, that will both make our campus stronger while leading the way in higher education on the issue of sexual respect and eliminating sexual assault.

If you are interested in being involved please let organizers know via this interest form.

Steering Committee Members:

Student Steering Committee currently includes Libby Beach ‘20, Jordan Beck ‘20, Eric Buer ‘20, Lindsey Clemson ‘20, Hannah Fishkin ‘19, Erin Hudson ‘19, Ariela Katz ‘22, Tariq Longsworth ‘20, Sam McPeak ‘19, Elena Meth ’19, Brandon Novak ‘22, Jessy Niu ‘22, Matt Nowling ‘21, and Nalani Wean ‘21.

Dinner Schedule:

  • Monday, February 4
  • Thursday, February 7


  • Both dinners will be held in Curtis-Provost Dining Hall
  • Doors open at 6 pm. Program and dinner begins at 6:30 pm and will conclude shortly after 8 pm.
  • Human Resources will offer a childcare program during the event.
  • RSVP Link available here:

Campus Communications

October 19, 2018