What's Happening

Pam Houston ‘83

Beck Lectures
Wednesday, September 19, 2012
8:00 PM
Herrick Hall Auditorium

Fiction Writer–winner of the 1993 Western States Book Award

Pam Houston '83 is the author of two collections of linked short stories, Cowboys Are My Weakness (1994), winner of the 1993 Western States Book Award and has been translated into nine languages, and Waltzing the Cat (1999), which won the Willa Award for Contemporary Fiction; two novels, Contents May Have Shifted (2012); and Sight Hound (2006); and two collections of autobiographical essays, A Rough Guide to the Heart (Virago, 2001) and A Little More About Me (1999). Houston has also edited a collection of fiction, nonfiction and poetry entitled Women on Hunting: Essays, Fiction, and Poetry. She is the author of a stage play called “Tracking the Pleiades,” and she has written the text for Men Before Ten a.m., a book of photographs by the French photographer Veronique Vialle. Houston is the Director of Creative Writing at UC Davis, and was the Director of the Tomales Bay Workshops. She teaches at many summer writers' conferences and festivals in the U.S. and abroad.

Posted Date 
Tuesday, September 10, 2013