Rachael Barrett ‘17: Future Historian Researches Women’s Labor Rights in Depression Era America
William Howard Doane Library
Home of the Denison Library and Seeley G. Mudd Learning Center
The building was built in 1937 by William Gehron, appointed college architect in the same year. The library was built in Harvard brick laid in Flemish bond with Bedford limestone trim. Details draw from Georgian style though facade mimics that of the south front of the Petit Trianon in the Garden of Versailles. The stacks portion of the library was extended in 1957. The Seeley G. Mudd Learning Resources Center was added to blend with the structure in 1981, and included construction of the "study tower." The Doane Library stands as a memorial to William H. Doane from his daughters Mrs. George W. Doane (Marguerite) and Miss Ida F. Doane who funded its construction.