William Howard Doane Library

William Howard Doane Library

Established: 
1937
Current Use: 

Home of the Denison Library and Seeley G. Mudd Learning Center

History & Architecture

The building was built in 1937 by William Gehron, appointed college architect in the same year. The library was built in Harvard brick laid in Flemish bond with Bedford limestone trim. Details draw from Georgian style though facade mimics that of the south front of the Petit Trianon in the Garden of Versailles. The stacks portion of the library was extended in 1957. The Seeley G. Mudd Learning Resources Center was added to blend with the structure in 1981, and included construction of the "study tower." The Doane Library stands as a memorial to William H. Doane from his daughters Mrs. George W. Doane (Marguerite) and Miss Ida F. Doane who funded its construction.

Central Campus
Known as the heart of Denison’s intellectual life, Doane Library and its super-smart librarians offer a wealth of resources. Just don’t expect a totally reclusive environment, as study obligations also make it a hub of social activity.
Building Style: 
Built in Harvard brick laid in Flemish bond with Bedford limestone trim. Details draw from Georgian style though facade mimics that of the south front of the Petit Trianon in the Garden of Versailles.
Denison Library

Enjoy this gallery of familiar and unusual perspectives of a signature building.

 

Walking across A-quad during Common Hour last week yielded this triple treat: a world-class cellist playing a fantastical mini-concert; a table full of—get this—one thousand chocolate-chip cookies; and a sky so impossibly blue that the whole scene felt like a dream.

Matt Haimovitz, the extraordinary artist who performed with the orchestra A Far Cry in the Vail Series season-opener at Swasey Chapel, staged a short program for a spellbound audience under the shade of maple trees near Doane Library.