Teaching and learning fellow

Posted: April 19, 2013


Denison University recognized Frank L. Hassebrock, associate professor of psychology with the Charles and Nancy Brickman Distinguished Service Chair at the college's Academic Awards Convocation held on Friday, April 19, in Swasey Chapel.
At the presentation of the award, Denison President Dale T. Knobel said, “Frank is well known for his continuous service to the college as multi-term chair of his department; as chair of the Academic Affairs Council and Student and Enrollment and Retention Committee; as Denison's first fellow for teaching and learning; as a member of many key search committees; as a catalyst for technological advancements in teaching and learning; and as a tireless mentor to students and colleagues alike.”
The Brickman Distinguished Service Chair, established in 1992 by a gift from Charles A. and Nancy Eshelman Brickman, seeks to honor a senior member of the Denison faculty who has excelled in commitment to the university. Charles and Nancy are both members of the Denison class of 1954. Mr. Brickman is a life trustee of Denison and served as chair of the Board of Trustees from 1983 to 1998.
Hassebrock teaches courses in cognitive psychology, psychology of adult development and aging, research methods in psychology and introduction to psychology, and he teaches seminars on “The Seven Sins of Memory: The Psychology of Remembering and Forgetting.” 
Hassebrock earned his bachelor's in psychology from the University of Illinois, master's from California State University and his doctorate in educational psychology from the University of Minnesota.
Media Inquiries 
Ginny Sharkey
Assistant Director for News and Information