Our Productions & Current Season

Production clip

CO-CURRICULAR THEATRE PRODUCTIONS

In addition to providing opportunities for experiential learning in our curriculum, the Denison  Department of Theatre provides plentiful opportunities for our students to participate in the  creation of theatre. These co-curricular productions are regarded as student laboratory work mentored by faculty artists, with the express purpose of fostering:

  • Responsibility in creative collaboration;
  • Artistic expression, imagination and growth;
  • Facility in analytical skills and problem solving;
  • Discipline of thought and craft;
  • Facility in the various arts of theatrical production;
  • An understanding of the theatre process as an essentially communal experience.

The plays we produce are chosen for their ability to provide:

  • Variety in theatrical form, style, period, and genre;
  • Ample opportunities for our student artists;
  • Unique educational and artistic challenges;
  • Valuable educational and artistic experiences for our audiences;
  • Professional development opportunities for our faculty and staff.
  • 11Production clip
OUR CURRENT SEASON, 2014-2015

The Department of Theatre and the Available Light Theatre Company present "Dirty Math 2016: Days of Future Math." on Tuesday and Wednesday, Sept. 23 and 24.

The Department of Theatre presents "The Heidi Chronicles," on Wednesday, Oct. 1, Thursday, Oct. 2, Friday, Oct. 3, Saturday, Oct. 4, and Sunday, Oct. 5 (2 p.m. Matinee). Directed by Sarah Blike '15.

The Department of Theatre presents "Little Shop of Horrors" by composer Alan Menken and writer Howard Ashman. Performances on Thursday, Nov. 13, Friday, Nov. 14; Saturday, Nov. 15; Sunday, Nov. 16 (2 p.m. matinee); Tuesday, Nov. 18; Wednesday, Nov. 19; and Thursday, Nov. 20. Directed by Cheryl McFarren.

The Department of Theatre presents "The Importance of Being Earnest," by Oscar Wilde. Performances on Friday, Feb. 27, Saturday, Feb. 28; Sunday, March 1 (2 p.m. matinee); Wednesday, March 4; Thursday, March 5; Friday, March 6; and Saturday, March 7. Directed by Mark Seamon.

Department of Theatre presents "Ensemble-Created New Work, Created with Available Light Theatre, theatre company-in-residence." Performances on Wednesday, April 22, Thursday, April 23; Friday, April 24; Saturday, April 25; and Sunday, April 26 (2 p.m. matinee).