Honors & Awards

Mary K Campbell/Carolyn Woodrow Deckman Studio Art Scholarship

Outstanding Creative Achievement

Mary K Campbell, August 31, 1914 - July 26, 2008
Mary K Campbell, August 31, 1914 - July 26, 2008

The Mary K Campbell/Caroline Woodrow Deckman Scholarship in the Fine Arts was established in 1968. This scholarship is awarded to a student or students who show outstanding creative achievement in Studio Art.

Who was Mary K Campbell?

Mary K Campbell

Lecturer Emerita of Art Mary K Campbell was born in 1914 in Pittsburgh, PA to Edward and Caroline Deckman. Her interest in higher education and art led her to attend Denison University and The National Academy of Design in NYC where she met her husband Kenneth Campbell. Mary K was a student at Denison from 1932 to 1934, after which she studied at the National Academy of Design and the Pratt Graphic Arts Center, both in New York City. In 1956, Mary K’s love for art led her back to Denison where she taught in the art department for 22 years. Mary K developed a graphics program at Denison and was well known for her teaching of print making and design. She had a great influence on her students, who have gone into architecture, illustration, design, and other allied fields, as well as teaching and curatorships.

“I had Mary K Campbell for several studio courses while at Denison during the 1960's, and I remember well her upswept hair and huge, brilliant, nearly constant smile….. such enthusiasm!” - Carol Kubie

Read more memories of Mary K

Mary K Campbell, 93, departed this life peacefully on July 26th, 2008.  She was a generous friend, an inspirational teacher, and a devoted mother. A memorial celebrating the life of Mary K Campbell was held at The First Baptist Church of Granville, OH on Saturday, September 27, 2008. 

Donations may be given to:

Mary K Campbell and Caroline Woodrow Deckman Studio Art Scholarship
Denison University
PO Box 716
Granville, OH 43023-0716

Previous Scholarship Recipients

  • 2014 – 2015 Holly Hamlin
  • 2013 – 2014 Hunter Hughes
  • 2012 – 2013 Chelsea Flowers
  • 2011 – 2012 Elizabeth shoby, Meghan Swisher
  • 2010 – 2011 Carolyn Pfeil and Colleen Cozart
  • 2009 – 2010 Kelly Maryanski '10
  • 2008 – 2009 Tori Conn ’10, Alex Lippman ‘10