What's Happening

Hawaii

Denison Geosciences Department at Waipio Overlook, Hawaii
Field Trips
Date 
Friday, March 10, 2006 to Monday, March 20, 2006
Location 
The Island of Hawaii

Denison Geosciences Department travels to Hawaii

Friday, March 10 - Travel Day Departed Columbus 7:42 AM, arrive Hilo 6:19 PM Lodging - cabins at Namakani Paio campground, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

Saturday March 11 - The Summit Area of Kilauea Lodging - cabins at Namakani Paio campground, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Sunday, March 12 - Hikes in and Around Kilauea Caldera and Kilauea Iki Lodging - cabins at Namakani Paio campground, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Monday, March 13 - Tour of Kilauea with Don Swanson & East Rift Zone Lodging - cabins at Namakani Paio campground, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Tuesday, March 14 - East Rift Zone, Southern Flank of Kilauea, Recent & Active Flows! Lodging - cabins at Namakani Paio campground, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Wednesday, March 15 - SW Rift Zone, Black & Green Sand Beaches, Littoral Cone Lodging - Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Motel, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii

Thursday, March 16 - Hualalai Lavas & Mauna Kea Lodging - Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Motel, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii

Friday, March 17 - Coral Reefs (Kamanu Charters), Mantle Xenoliths and Coffee Plantation Lodging - Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Motel, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii

Saturday, March 18 - Kona to Hilo Lodging - Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Motel, Hilo, Island of Hawaii

Sunday, March 19 - Flew to Honolulu, Free Day on Oahu!, Depart for Home

Monday, March 20 - Flew to Phoenix to Columbus, Ohio

Posted Date 
Tuesday, April 4, 2006
  • 15Denison Geosciences Department at Waipio Overlook, Hawaii
  • 25Brianne Jacoby and Liz Hopkins get drenched while examining a breakwater on the windward shore
  • 35Prof. Greene and students on classic pahoehoe lava from the 1969-74 eruptions of Mauna Ulu
  • 45Lava tube cave near Kailua-Kona
  • 55Walking on a lava lake, Kilauea Iki