Honors & Awards

Honors & Awards

Honors & Awards Communication


John P. Levis Award

The Communication major earning the highest accumulated GPA preceding the final semester of senior year is awarded the John P. Levis Award and recognized in the annual Honors Convocation.

Clyde Schumaker Award

The Clyde Schumaker Award is given by the department to the Communication major who, in the view of the faculty, has demonstrated excellence in Communication both through academic performance and contributions to the development of the Department and major.

Orlando Taylor Paper Award

Established in 2009, the Orlando Taylor Paper Award is given to a student who has produced outstanding work in the field of Communication.  Communication majors and minors are invited to submit 15-30 page pages that have received an A- or above in a Communication course for this award.   Papers can be on any topic and can employ any theoretical or methodological perspective and must be approved for submission by the course professor.  Papers are usually submitted in February.  The recipient will be given support if he/she wishes to present the paper at a conference.  The winner will also receive a cash prize and have his/her name listed on a plaque in the department showcase.  The recipient will also present his/her work at the Spring Communication Department colloquium.

  • 2012-2013 Winners: Courtney Vinopal; Honorable Mention Amanda DiMartini
  • 2011-2012 Winners:  Anastasia Yefremova and H.B. Augustine
  • 2010-2011 Winners: Lorrin Ostojic and Katie Steinharter; Honorable Mention Winners: Rachel Hecker, Mark Heckmann and Jessica Wang
  • 2009-2010 Winners: Lauren Brown, Julia Griffin and Alison Waldman


The Lionel G. Crocker Scholarship

A gift of James P. Huchison, is awarded to a current junior (rising senior) majoring in Communication and demonstrating financial need, who best exemplifies distinguished work in the field of Communication.

The Geraldine H. Crocker Scholarship

The Geraldine H. Crocker Scholarship, made through a bequest by Mrs. Crocker, is awarded to a Communication major demonstrating financial need, and demonstrating scholastic excellence.